Golden Years of the National Symphony Orchestra

by Joanne Haroutounian (Author)
Buy for $52.00 Excerpt

Golden Years of the National Symphony Orchestra: Stories and Photographs of Musicians and Maestros presents a rich and intimate perspective of the orchestra as it evolved in prominence and international expanse throughout the past nine decades. Through hundreds of stunning photographs captured by NSO violinist William Haroutounian, the tenure of seven NSO conductors, major guest artists, and NSO members are brought to life, giving a rare and exciting glimpse of musical life on stage, backstage, and on tour.

Alongside these photographs are experiences from the members themselves, pieced together by Joanne Haroutounian. Humorous stories of mishaps during rehearsals and performances balance with some of the most historically significant moments in classical music history—from Mstislav Rostropovich’s return to Russia with the NSO and sheer excitement of the mobs to the sudden death of Gina Bachauer minutes before she was scheduled to perform in Athens. The book memorializes this rich and varied history and will enhance an appreciation for concert life.

DRM Protected
Gianandrea Noseda (Introduction author), William Haroutounian (Other contributor)
Publication date
August 15, 2021
Page count
Paper ISBN
File size
27 MB

Accessibility features

  • None provided
Other features and hazards

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy