The Vicomte of Bragelonne: Ten Years Later

by Alexandre Dumas (Author), Anonymous (Translator)
Buy for $14.99 Excerpt

The Four Musketeers return; middle-aged and battle-weary, but always ready for a new adventure.

The setting is France in the 1660s. There’s a new king on the throne, and D’Artagnan is not impressed. After 35 years of service, he resigns his position in the Musketeers. But the fates soon draw D’Artagnan back into the fold. Alongside his old comrades, Athos, Aramis and Porthos, he’ll play a crucial role in King Louis XIV’s transition from weak-willed adolescent to a man worthy of the title The Sun King.

"The Vicomte of Bragelonne" is the first volume of Dumas’ "Ten Years Later". It continues "The Three Musketeers" saga in style, full of all the romance and swordplay you’ve come to expect.

Alexandre Dumas (1802 - 1870) was a hugely popular 19th century French writer. Born of mixed French and Haitian heritage, Dumas first rose to prominence in Paris as a playwright, but later gained international fame with his historical fiction.

Often co-authored with other writers, these stories wove together swashbuckling adventure, romance, and real events from France’s past. Among the best known are "The Three Musketeers", and its sequels "Twenty Years After", and "Le Vicomte de Bragelonne: Ten Years Later". Set across four decades, this trilogy follows the rise of the dashing D’Artagnan—from hot-headed soldier to trusted captain under Louis XIV.

Dumas’ other novels include "The Count of Monte Cristo" and "The Black Tulip". His works have been adapted into more than 200 movies, including The Man in the Iron Mask starring Leonardo DiCaprio.

Publication date
July 05, 2021
Page count

Accessibility features

  • None provided
Other features and hazards

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy