Twenty Years After I

by Alexandre Dumas (Author), Anonymous (Translator)
Buy for $10.99 Excerpt

It’s the time for heroes. But the Musketeers are no more.

As Dumas’ "Twenty Years Later" begins, only D’Artagnan still serves in the Queen’s guard. Porthos, Aramis, and Athos are living comfortable lives, their fighting days long behind them. But all that’s about to change. With the country on the brink of civil war, D’Artagnan is given a dangerous new mission, and he knows he’ll need his old friends by his side.

Expanding upon the mythology of "The Three Musketeers", the sequel is just as packed with sword fights, conspiracies, and political double dealings. And a very hateable new villain in Cardinal Mazarin. This first part of the novel sets the scene for the adventure that follows.

Alexandre Dumas (1802 - 1870) was a hugely popular 19th century French writer. Born of mixed French and Haitian heritage, Dumas first rose to prominence in Paris as a playwright, but later gained international fame with his historical fiction.

Often co-authored with other writers, these stories wove together swashbuckling adventure, romance, and real events from France’s past. Among the best known are "The Three Musketeers", and its sequels "Twenty Years After", and "Le Vicomte de Bragelonne: Ten Years Later". Set across four decades, this trilogy follows the rise of the dashing D’Artagnan—from hot-headed soldier to trusted captain under Louis XIV.

Dumas’ other novels include "The Count of Monte Cristo" and "The Black Tulip". His works have been adapted into more than 200 movies, including The Man in the Iron Mask starring Leonardo DiCaprio.

Publication date
July 05, 2021
Page count

Accessibility features

  • None provided
Other features and hazards

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy