The Mesmerist's Victim: Andrea de Taverney

by Alexandre Dumas (Author), Henry Llewellyn Williams (Translator)
Buy for $2.99 Read sample online Download sample

Love can blossom even in the most desperate of situations. In "The Mesmerist’s Victim: Andrea de Taverney", the second entry in the "Marie Antoinette Romances", the setting is Revolution-era Paris.

The story centres on two passionate, but rather unlucky souls who become lovers. Amidst all the chaos, intrigue, and beheadings, they fight to keep their romance alive. Returning characters from the series’ first entry, "Joseph Balsamo", make up the supporting cast.

Action takes a back seat in "The Mesmerist’s Victim". Instead, Alexandre Dumas concentrates on deepening his characters and the intricate relationships which join them together through this turbulent time.

Alexandre Dumas (1802 - 1870) was a hugely popular 19th Century French writer. Born of mixed French and Haitian heritage, Dumas first rose to prominence in Paris as a playwright, but later gained international fame with his historical fiction.

Often co-authored with other writers, these stories wove together swashbuckling adventure, romance, and real events from France’s past. Among the best known are "The Three Musketeers", and its sequels "Twenty Years After", and "Le Vicomte de Bragelonne: Ten Years Later". Set across four decades, this trilogy follows the rise of the dashing D’Artagnan—from hot-headed soldier to trusted captain under Louis XIV.

Dumas’ other novels include "The Count of Monte Cristo" and "The Black Tulip". His works have been adapted into more than 200 movies, including The Man in the Iron Mask starring Leonardo DiCaprio.

Publication date
July 05, 2021
The publisher has not provided information about accessibility.

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy