The Marquise De Ganges

by Alexandre Dumas (Author), I. G. Burnham (Translator)
Buy for $2.99 Excerpt

She had a fortune to her name. And it made her an irresistible target.

A famous beauty, Marie de Rossan married the Marquis de Ganges in 1658. It appeared to be a happy match, but trouble began over the issue of Marie’s will, and who stood to inherit her money. The Marquis’ two brothers hounded her relentlessly, pressuring her to make revisions. And then, after months of threats, their campaign took a violent turn.

A sordid tale of murder and greed, it’s perfect subject matter for Alexandre Dumas’ "Celebrated Crimes" series. The case also peeked the interest of the Marquis de Sade (who inspired behind the term ‘sadism’), who wrote his own novel on the subject.

Alexandre Dumas (1802 - 1870) was a hugely popular 19th century French writer. Born of mixed French and Haitian heritage, Dumas first rose to prominence in Paris as a playwright, but later gained international fame with his historical fiction.

Often co-authored with other writers, these stories wove together swashbuckling adventure, romance, and real events from France’s past. Among the best known are "The Three Musketeers", and its sequels "Twenty Years After", and "Le Vicomte de Bragelonne: Ten Years Later". Set across four decades, this trilogy follows the rise of the dashing D’Artagnan—from hot-headed soldier to trusted captain under Louis XIV.

Dumas’ other novels include "The Count of Monte Cristo" and "The Black Tulip". His works have been adapted into more than 200 movies, including The Man in the Iron Mask starring Leonardo DiCaprio.

Publication date
July 05, 2021

Accessibility features

  • None provided
Other features and hazards

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy