Barnaby Rudge

by Charles Dickens (Author)
Buy for $14.99 Excerpt

‘Barnaby Rudge’ is a historical novel by Charles Dickens, depicting the anti-Catholic Gordon Riots of 1780 in England. It is a novel in which danger lurks around every corner, as the titular character and his mother venture across England to evade a mystery man that is haunting them. After arriving in London, the protagonists are swept up in the vortex of violence surrounding them as Barnaby is mistakenly captured by a group of soldiers and must escape before he is sentenced to death. ‘Barnaby Rudge’ is not simply a recollection of the riots but a sprawling story about lovers torn apart by their families and unsolved murders. Dickens’ celebrated social criticism is portrayed in this novel as the urban decay in the London slums fosters ‘the very scum and refuse’ that return as a violent mob to destroy it. A terrifying addition to Dickens’ collection, ‘Barnaby Rudge’ is recommended for fans of Dickens and Shakespeare.



Charles Dickens (1812-1870) was a widely popular English author and social critic. Among his most famous novels are ‘Oliver Twist’, ‘A Christmas Carol’, and ‘Great Expectations’. Dickens is best known for his depictions of poor Victorian living conditions and his unforgettable characters, some compassionate and others grotesquely malicious. Dickens’ timeless tales are still as celebrated today as when they were written, and his literary style is so influential that the term Dickensian was coined to describe the literature he inspired. Many of Dickens’ novels have been adapted for movies and television, including the Academy Award-winning musical ‘Oliver’.

Format
EPUB
Protection
Watermark
Publication date
December 06, 2021
Publisher
Collection
Page count
404
ISBN
9788726605778

Accessibility features

  • None provided
subscribe

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy