Black Girl Rising

by Brynne Barnes (Author), Tatyana Fazlalizadeh (Illustrator)
Buy for $11.99 Excerpt

This enduring anthem for Black girls celebrates their power, potential, and brilliance—for themselves and for the world.

You are a thousand curls
unfurling in your hair.
You are a thousand fists
standing proudly in air.

You are the song of swallows,
lifting sun as they sing—
breaking light with their beaks,
breaking sky with their wings . . .


Black girlhood is beautiful! In this deeply moving celebration and rallying cry, and in the face of the many messages that still work to convince Black girls that they should shrink themselves, hide their light, know their place, Brynne Barnes and Tatyana Fazlalizadeh reclaim that narrative: A Black girl's place is everywhere, and her selfhood is everything she can dream it to be.

With poignant, poetic prose and striking, color-drenched illustrations, this empowering picture book centers the inherent worthiness and radiance of Black girls that is still far too often denied. A love letter to and for Black girls everywhere, Black Girl Rising alchemizes the sorrow and strength of the past into the brilliant gold of the future, sweeping young readers of all backgrounds into a lyrical exploration of what it means to be Black, female, and glorious.

EMPOWERS AND INSPIRES SELF-LOVE: This uplifting anthem of Black brilliance shuts out invalidating messages and replaces them with unconditional assertions of Black girls' rights to be loved, to be inspired, and to exist fully in their power. Everything about Black girls deserves to be seen and celebrated—and this picture book provides a welcome opportunity for readers of all ages to do so!

MAKES A GREAT GIFT: From graduation to birthdays to other key milestones, this book makes a perfect present for consumers looking to celebrate, empower, and inspire the women in their lives—whether daughters, granddaughters, nieces, cousins, or friends.

EXCELLENT READ-ALOUD: Warm, loving sentiments paired with poetic prose and a light rhyme make this picture book a great choice to read aloud together at story time, bedtime, or any time. It's sure to become a fast favorite and inspire countless moments of parent-child connection.

Perfect for:

• Parents, grandparents, and caregivers
• Teachers and librarians
• Readers who loved Hair Love and Little Leaders
• The vast #WeNeedDiverseBooks community
• Anyone seeking books about Black joy, female empowerment, or Black history
• Gift-givers looking for a unique and inspiring book for the girls (or women) in their lives

Format
EPUB
Protection
DRM Protected
Publication date
June 28, 2022
Publisher
Page count
40
ISBN
9781452183534
Paper ISBN
9781452164878
File size
50 MB
The publisher has not provided information about accessibility.
subscribe

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy